The Kansas City Chiefs offensive duo of Patrick Mahomes and Rashee Rice accepted their team awards at this year’s 101 Awards.

Traditionally held in Kansas City, “The Committee of 101” hosts the 101 Awards, the city’s salute to professional football. The nationally-renowned event was begun in 1969 by a group headed by Kansas City businessman Jack O. Wheeler to honor outstanding achievements in professional football.

“To be nominated by your teammates, that’s the true reward,” said Mahomes after accepting the Derrick Thomas Award for team MVP. “We have so many great players on our team, and we’re part of a great run here. So I never take it for granted to be able to stand on a stage like this or be in the locker room that I’m in.”


The 101 Awards are widely recognized throughout the NFL, from the coaches and players honored yearly to team owners and league executives who lead the league’s business affairs. Each year, 101 national media members representing both NFL conferences select winners for various awards.

Rice, who took home the team award for Rookie of the Year, was also in attendance. For the young receiver, this is a significant first step to even more greatness in the future.